I Watched Way Too Many Movies

I realize I kind of forgot about this. I have been using Twitter religiously. It’s so easy and fast and I have an App for my phone. Yes, I’m one of those now. The type that says, “So I got this new App…” (It’s not an iPhone so don’t freak out). I’ve just been busy and on the go a lot. Busy doing what? Um… good question. Being on vacation, for sure. That entails watching a lot of random movies (like The Flight of Dragons), which is not a normal past time for me and I feel like my roommate is being a bit of a bad influence on me in that sense. Not that sitting around watching TV all day is bad, I just feel lazy and unproductive doing it every single day.

Vacation also included lots of reading: my list this winter was Wuthering Heights, A Farewell to Arms, American Lion, Tales of Beedle the Bard, The Picture of Dorian Gray, and now I’m just finishing up Travis Prinzi’s Harry Potter and Imagination: The Way Between Two Worlds. A couple of these were re-reads: I’m trying to go back and read all the classic novels from my childhood with adult eyes now.  It’s been an interesting journey so far with Dorian and Heathcliff to start the new year off; depressing, actually. How did I read these as a ten year old and not become seriously disturbed? No sarcastic comments allowed on that one. I made it too easy.

My vacation also involved lots, and I mean LOTS, of drinking and partying. I don’t think I went a day without at least a glass of wine in my hand, and the gin, beer, tequila, and champagne were just as plentiful. It really would be easier if all my best friends birthdays, Christmas, and New Years Eve didn’t fall in December and January all within a few days of each other. Not that I’m complaining, I love a good party, but I’m ready to go back to being sober and socially reclusive.

Surprisingly, I did not play World of Warcraft for over three weeks of my winter break. And I have now broken my obsessive streak with that game, and though I still enjoy playing and being social on it, I’ll stick to a few hours a week. Not five hours a day.

What else have I been busy with? Sad to say I have not been very good at delving into and analyzing opinions lately; I’ve been very focused on broadening my worldview through different media: namely, the internet and books, but also through forms I wouldn’t normal bother with like television and movies. I’m not so medieval in the sense that I think they are inferior to the written word, I just have a hard time sitting down for that long without doing something interactive (Yes, reading is interactive, in my opinion at least). But these past six weeks have taught me that I do have discipline and can sit still for 3 hours without freaking out. As human beings we have the option to constantly change into better people. It’s wonderful.

Though that was not a great segue it brings me to my purpose in this blog. I am taking a course on non-verbal communication, and though so far it’s given me information on common sense things, the main point that has been beaten into me is that we communicate with more than words. That is obvious (and it is ironic that I’m talking about this on a blog where non-verbal communication is limited to nonexistent), but what I didn’t think about was how little Americans actually think about how our non-verbal communication actually affects our smallest day to day interactions. As I get more and more into my studies and outside research I’ll come back to this topic. I don’t feel like I know enough about it to actually form an opinion quite yet. I just wanted to introduce it, and let you know I wasn’t dead.

Until another six weeks from now ;)

-JS

Leave a Reply

